LibGuides: Gerontology 501: Articles

What is a peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed (or scholarly) articles are written by experts in their field. After being submitted to the journal editor by the author, the articles are then reviewed by other experts (or peers) in that field. These experts carefully evaluate the article for accuracy and the validity of the author's methodology and procedures. This process is meant to ensure quality so that the published articles exemplify the best research of that field.

Characteristics of Peer-reviewed/Scholarly articles

Searching Basics

http://cune.libguides.com/library

Click on "Articles and Databases."
Click on Journal Finder or Database title.
Log in using CUNE username and password.
Enter search terms and find results.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Guide and FAQ
Interlibrary Loan Form
This form is only for the use of Concordia University faculty, staff and students. To submit a request, fill in all available information and click on the SUBMIT button. Please note that a separate form is required for each individual item you request.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Premier
Covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences, which indexes more than 7,000 journals, 4,000 of which are full text.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL contains a large collection of nursing and allied health information sources and journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming collection of several thousand videos licensed for educational uses. Subjects vary widely: geography, sciences, business, health, and many more. Playlists, bookmarks and other tools make your viewing time productive.
FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Search libraries worldwide using OCLC's advanced FirstSearch interface. Select from these databases: ArticleFirst, ClasePeriodica, Ebooks, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, Proceedings, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of resources available at libraries worldwide (including Concordia), using the FirstSearch search interface.

Selected Journals

Free or Open Access Journals

BioMed Central
230 peer-reviewed open access journals

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of links to free, full-text e-journals in quality controlled scientific and scholarly areas.

HighWire - Stanford University
Free full-text science archive
MedNar

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.