Skip to Main Content Image Header for Website
Link
Cune

Research Toolkit

Chicago Formatting Basics

Chicago Style has a few formatting guidelines for the notes.

  • Use superscript format and start with the number 1.
  • Place the note number at the end of the clause or sentence that refers to the source and after all punctuation except for dashes (—).
  • The first time you cite a source, provide all information about it in the note: author’s full name, title of the source, and publication information.
  • The next time you cite that source, you only need to provide the author's last name, a shortened source title, and the page number where you found the information.
  • If you cite the same source and the same page consecutive times, use the word "Ibid" (a shorted form of the Latin ibidem, meaning “in the same place”).
  • If you cite the same source but a different page number, use the word "Ibid" and follow it with a comma and the different page number.

Here are the formatting guidelines for the reference list.

  • The reference list should start on a separate page at the end of your paper.
  • Use margins no less than 1” and no greater than 1.5”.
  • Title the page Bibliography, centered at the top (no bold, italics, quotation marks, etc.).
  • References should be in a hanging indent format, meaning that the first line of each reference is set flush left and subsequent lines are indented, like this:

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Etiam at porttitor massa. In non cursus lectus. Fusce eget risus vitae tellus venenatis vestibulum a sed tellus.

  • Single-space each individual entry, but provide an extra line space between each entry.
  • Alphabetize the list by each source's first author’s last name. If there is no author, start with the first significant word in the title.
  • In titles of articles, books, and other sources, capitalize each word, except for articles (the, an), prepositions, or conjunctions, unless one is the first word of the title or subtitle.

URLs

URLs (uniform resource locators) provide the location for a source on the Internet. However, URLs can often change, which causes problems for references because we're trying to send our readers to a specific location.

DOIs

That location problem is where DOIs come in. DOI stands for digital object identifier. DOIs provide static, permanent online locations for sources. They're also noticeably shorter than most URLs, which is handy!

If you can't find the DOI on either the article or the database record page, you can look it up on CrossRef.org's Guest Query form. Scroll down to the bottom and type in the first author's last name and the title of the article.

Chicago Examples

BOOKS, including eBOOKS & REFERENCE BOOKS

The basic format is:

Footnote (First Note)

1. First_name Last_name, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Year), page numbers.

Footnote (Succeeding Notes)

2. Last_name, Shortened Title of Book, page numbers.

Bibliography Entry

Last_name, First_name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. City of Publication: Publisher,* Publication Year.

* Don't include the parts of publishers' names that are not required to locate the publisher. For example: The, Publishers, Co., Ltd., or Inc. However, keep the words Books, Sons, and Brothers. The word Press can be kept or omitted depending on the publisher's name. Keep Press in situations where the names could be confusing without it (Free Press) or when part of the name of a university press.

Specific Examples:

Multiple Authors
Footnote (First)
1. Connie J. A. Beck and Bruce D. Sales, Family Mediation: Facts, Myths, and Future Prospects (Washington: APA, 2001), 99-100.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Beck and Sales, Family Mediation, 105.
Bibliography Entry
Beck, Connie J. A., and Bruce D. Sales. Family Mediation: Facts, Myths, and Future Prospects. Washington: APA, 2001.
Edited Book
Footnote (First)
1. Jewelle Taylor Gibbs and Larke Nahme Huang, eds., Children of Color: Psychological Interventions With Minority Youth (San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1991), 87.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Gibbs and Huang, Children of Color, 79.
Bibliography Entry
Gibbs, Jewelle Taylor, and Larke Nahme Huang, eds. Children of Color: Psychological Interventions With Minority Youth. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1991.
Article or Chapter in an Edited Book
Footnote (First)
1. Domino W. Massaro, "Broadening the Domain of the Fuzzy Logical Model of Perception," in Cognition: Conceptual and Methodological Issues, ed. Herbert L. Pick, Jr. et al. (Washington: APA, 1992), 51-84.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Massaro, "Broadening the Domain," 51-84.
Bibliography Entry
Massaro, Dominic W. "Broadening the Domain of the Fuzzy Logical Model of Perception." In Cognition: Conceptual and Methodological Issues, edited by Herbert L. Pick, Jr., Paulus Willem van den Broek, and David C. Knill, 51-84. Washington: APA, 1992.
Entry in an Encyclopedia
According to The Chicago Manual of Style, "Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies. The facts of publication are often omitted, but the edition (if not the first) must be specified. References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item (not the volume or page number) preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, "under the word"; pl. s.vv.)" (p. 755, section 14.247).
Footnote
1. The New Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "relativity."
Electronic Book, from a Database
Footnote (First)
1. Stephen F. Arno and Steven Allison-Bunnell, Flames in Our Forest: Disaster or Renewal? (Washington: Island Press, 2002), http://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Arno and Allison-Bunnell, Flames in Our Forest.
Bibliography Entry
Arno, Stephen F., and Steven Allison-Bunnell. Flames in Our Forest: Disaster or Renewal? Washington: Island Press, 2002. http://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks.
Electronic Book, from an eReader
Footnote (First)
1. Glenn R. Schiraldi, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder Sourcebook: A Guide to Healing, Recovery, and Growth (New York: McGraw, 2001), Kindle edition.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Glenn R. Schiraldi, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.
Bibliography Entry
Schiraldi, Glenn R. Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder Sourcebook: A Guide to Healing, Recovery, and Growth. New York: McGraw, 2001. Kindle edition.
Dissertation or Thesis, Retrieved from a Database
Footnote (First)
1. Leah Sigrun Laxdal, "A Narrative Blind Eye: Visual Disability Representation Within the Brothers Grimm Folk Tales" (PhD diss., University of Windsor, 2009), ProQuest (MR82087).
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Laxdal, "A Narrative Blind Eye."
Bibliography Entry
Laxdal, Leah Sigrun. "A Narrative Blind Eye: Visual Disability Representation Within the Brothers Grimm Folk Tales." PhD diss., University of Windsor, 2009. ProQuest (MR82087).
Dissertation or Thesis, Retrieved from the Web
Footnote (First)
1. Amy S. Bruckman, "MOOSE Crossing: Construction, community, and learning in a networked virtual world for kids" (PhD diss., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1997).
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Amy S. Bruckman, "MOOSE Crossing."
Bibliography Entry
Bruckman, Amy S. "MOOSE Crossing: Construction, community, and learning in a networked virtual world for kids." PhD diss., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1997.

ARTICLES (JOURNAL, MAGAZINE, & NEWSPAPER)

The basic format is:

Journal — Footnote (First Note)

1. First_name Last_name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Publication Date): page numbers.

Journal — Footnote (Succeeding Notes)

2. Last_name, "Shortened Title of Article," page numbers.

Journal — Bibliography Entry

Last_name, First_name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Publication Date): page numbers.

Magazine/Newspaper — Footnote (First Note)

1. First_name Last_name, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine or Newspaper, Publication Date, page numbers.

Magazine/Newspaper — Footnote (Succeeding Notes)

2. Last_name, "Shortened Title of Article," page numbers.

Magazine/Newspaper — Bibliography Entry

Last_name, First_name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Magazine or Newspaper, Publication Date.

Notes & Exceptions:

  • Include a DOI if it's provided for electronic articles. If no DOI is available, use the periodical's homepage URL instead.
  • If you provide the URL, state it as http://www.URL.com. You don't need to provide a access date unless required by your professor.
    [See the box to the right—"URL vs DOI"—for additional information about URLs and DOIs.]
  • Chicago Style states that you only have to provide an issue number if each issue's pagination starts at page 1. However, it also states "it is never wrong to include the issue number, and doing so can be a hedge against other errors" (p. 732, section 14.180). So, if in doubt, go ahead and include it. ^_^
    To find out if the pagination continues from issue to issue, check the page numbers. High page numbers indicate continuous pagination. If you're still not sure, go to the journal's homepage and look up the issues in that volume. Find the page numbers for the first article in each issue.
  • Journal articles usually only need the year. (But some may specify a season or month.)
  • Magazine, newspaper, and newsletter articles require the year and the exact date (month or month and day).

Specific Examples:

Journal Article, Continuous Pagination, with DOI
Footnote (First)
1. Alan Sangster and Giovanna Scataglinibelghitar, "Luca Pacioli: The Father of Accounting Education," Accounting Education 19 (2010): 427, doi:10.1080/09639284.2010.501955.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Sangster and Scataglinibelghitar, "Luca Pacioli," 429.
Bibliography Entry
Sangster, Alan, and Giovanna Scataglinibelghitar. "Luca Pacioli: The Father of Accounting Education." Accounting Education 19 (2010): 423-238. doi:10.1080/09639284.2010.501955.
Journal Article, Paginated by Issue, with DOI
Footnote (First)
1. Richard Klimoski and Susan Palmer, "The ADA and the Hiring Process in Organizations," Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research 45, no. 2 (1993): 18, doi:10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.10.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Klimoski and Palmer, "The ADA and the Hiring Process," 20.
Bibliography Entry
Klimoski, Richard, and Susan Palmer. "The ADA and the Hiring Process in Organizations." Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research 45, no. 2 (1993): 10-36. doi:10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.10.
Magazine Article, Online
Footnote (First)
1. Baruch Lev, "How to Win Investors Over," Harvard Business Review, November 1, 2011, http://hbr.org/2011/11/how-to-win-investors-over/ar/1.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Lev, "How to Win."
Bibliography Entry
Lev, Baruch. "How to Win Investors Over." Harvard Business Review, November 1, 2011. http://hbr.org/2011/11/how-to-win-investors-over/ar/1.
Newspaper Article, Online
Footnote (First)
1. Michael Rapaport, "Loan-Loss Rule Spat Drags On," The Wall Street Journal, March 8, 2013, http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB20001424127887323628804578345831719096140.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Rapaport, "Loan-Loss Rule."
Bibliography Entry
Rapaport, Michael. "Loan-Loss Rule Spat Drags On." The Wall Street Journal, March 8, 2013. http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB20001424127887323628804578345831719096140.

ONLINE SOURCES

The basic format is:

Footnote (First Note)

1. First_name Last_name, "Title of Web Page," Name of Website or Publishing Organization, Publication Date and/or Access Date (if available), URL.

Footnote (Succeeding Notes)

2. Last_name, "Shortened Title of Web Page."

Bibliography Entry

Last_name, First_name. "Title of Web Page." Name of Website or Publishing Organization. Publication Date and/or Access Date (if available). URL.

Note: Chicago citation for online sources contains the following pieces.

  • author(s) name(s),
  • webpage title (in quotation marks) or
  • website title (if applicable),
  • publishing organization (if applicable),
  • publication/modification date or access date, and
  • URL.

Specific Examples:

Webpage
Note that a webpage is a small part of a larger website. Just as chapter and article titles aren't in italics, webpage titles aren't in italics, either.
Footnote (First)
1. "Concordia's History," Concordia University, accessed September 3, 2014, http://www.cu-portland.edu/about/history.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. "Concordia's History."
Bibliography Entry
"Concordia's History." Concordia University. Accessed September 3, 2014. http://www.cu-portland.edu/about/history.
Website

If you refer to a website in general, but not a specific part of that website, Chicago states that you can simply use an in-text citation with the website's name and URL. Here's an example:

The American Library Association's Great Websites for Kids (http://gws.ala.org/) recommends websites that are relevant for children up to 14 years of age.

If you need a more formal citation, use the example below.
Footnote (First)
1. Great Websites for Kids, American Library Association, accessed September 3, 2014, http://gws.ala.org/.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Great Websites for Kids.
Bibliography Entry
Great Websites for Kids. American Library Association. Accessed September 3, 2014. http://gws.ala.org/.

Note that a website is the larger source. Just as book and journal titles are in italics, website titles should be in italics, too.
Blog Post

If you refer to a blog post or comment in general, Chicago states that you can simply use an in-text citation with the blog's name and date. Here's an example:

In a post on the APA Style Blog on January 24, 2013, Stefanie discussed the importance of being able to retrieve sources for APA style.

If you need a more formal citation, use the example below.
Footnote (First)
1. Stefanie, "Asking the Right Question: How Can the Reader Find the Source?" APA Style Blog (blog), January 24, 2013, http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2013/01/asking-the-right-question-how-can-the-reader-find-the-source.html.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Stefanie, "Asking the Right Question."
Bibliography Entry
Stefanie. "Asking the Right Question: How Can the Reader Find the Source?" APA Style Blog (blog). January 24, 2013. http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2013/01/asking-the-right-question-how-can-the-reader-find-the-source.html.
Discussion Board Post
Footnote (First)
1. Zahid Mehmood, "VPN Service -- Quick Poll," EDUCAUSE.edu, March 9, 2012, http://www.educause.edu/discuss/discussion-groups-related-educause-programs/security-discussion-group/vpn-service-quick-poll.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Mehmood, "VPN Service."
Bibliography Entry
Mehmood, Zahid. "VPN Service -- Quick Poll." EDUCAUSE.edu. March 9, 2012. http://www.educause.edu/discuss/discussion-groups-related-educause-programs/security-discussion-group/vpn-service-quick-poll.
Tweet
Footnote (First)
1. Concordia University, Twitter post, August 26, 2014, 8:47 a.m., https://twitter.com/cu_portland.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Concordia University, Twitter post.
Bibliography Entry
Concordia University. Twitter post. August 26, 2014, 8:47 a.m. https://twitter.com/cu_portland.
Facebook Post
Footnote (First)
1. Concordia University Portland, Facebook post, August 20, 2014, 5:09 p.m., https://www.facebook.com/cu.portland.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Concordia University Portland, Facebook post.
Bibliography Entry
Concordia University Portland. Facebook post. August 20, 2014, 5:09 p.m. https://www.facebook.com/cu.portland.

LEGAL MATERIALS

The basic formats are:

These are basic examples for citing legal materials; for more information, see the latest edition of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (19th ed., 2010), which is the source for Chicago legal citation style.

Common Abbreviations

Cong.
H.
S.
Reg.
Res.
F.
F.2d

U.S. Congress
House of Representatives
Senate
Regulation
Resolution
Federal Reporter
Federal Reporter, Second Series

F.3d
F. Supp.
U.S.C.
Cong. Rec.
Fed. Reg.
U.S.
S. Ct.

Federal Reporter, Third Series
Federal Supplement
United States Code
Congressional Record
Federal Register
United States Supreme Court Reports
Supreme Court Reporter

Additional Notes:

  • Note that legal sources are cited in the footnotes only—no bibliography entries. (See Section 14.283)

Specific Examples:

Case and Court Decisions
Court Decisions
Guidelines
  • First footnotes:
    • Case names, including the abbreviation v., are set in roman font.
    • Provide the volume number in Arabic format, the abbreviated name of the reporter, the ordinal series number of the reporter (if applicable), and the abbreviated name of the court (if not specified by the reporter) and the date together in parentheses.
    • A single page number designates the first page of a decision; an additional number designates an actual page cited.
    • If accessing from a database, provide the docket number, database name, and any identifying date and number supplied by the database. If referring to a page or screen number, precede the number by an asterisk (see examples 7 and 8).
  • Succeeding footnotes:
    • Italicize shortened case names.
    • Provide the volume number in Arabic format, the abbreviated name of the reporter, the ordinal series number of the reporter (if applicable), and page number information.
    • Use at to designate a particular page (see example 2). If citing the reference as a whole, do not use at (see example 4).
    • If accessing from a database, provide just the database identifier. If referring to a page or screen number, precede the number by an asterisk (see examples 7 and 8).
Examples
1. United States v. Christmas, 222 F.3d 141, 145 (4th Cir. 2000).
2. Christmas, 222 F.3d at 145.
3. Profit Sharing Plan v. Mbank Dallas, N.A., 683 F. Supp. 592 (N.D. Tex. 1988).
4. Profit Sharing Plan, 683 F. Supp. 592.
5. McNamee v. Dep’t of the Treasury, No. 05-6151-CV, 2007 U.S. App. LEXIS 12016 (2d Cir. May 23, 2007).
6. Horn v. Pub. Water Supply Dist. No. 8, No. WD 63889, 2005 WL 119835 (Mo. Ct. App. Jan. 21, 2005).
7. McNamee, 2007 U.S. App. LEXIS 12016, at *5.
8. Horn, 2005 WL 119835, at *3.
U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
Guidelines
  • If a court's name is identified by the court reporter, it is not repeated before the date (see examples below).
Examples
9. AT&T Corp. v. Iowa Utils. Bd., 525 U.S. 366 (1999).
10. Brendlin v. California, 127 S. Ct. 2400 (2007).
11. AT&T, 525 U.S. at 366-67.
Lower Federal-Court Decisions
Guidelines
  • If relevant, the Supreme Court’s grant or denial of certiorari may be included (see example 13).
Examples
12. United States v. Dennis, 186 F. 201 (2d Cir. 1950).
13. City of Las Vegas V. Walsh, 124 P.3d 203 (Nev. 2005), cert. denied, 547 U.S. 1071 (2006).
14. Eaton v. IBM Corp., 925 F. Supp. 487 (S.D. Tex. 1996).
15. Dennis, 183 F. at 202.
16. Walsh, 124 P.3d at 215.
State- and Local-Court Decisions
Guidelines
  • Cited similarly to federal-court decisions.
  • If the court’s name is identified by the report, it is not repeated before the date.
  • If a case was decided in a lower court, the abbreviated court name appears before the date.
  • Provide a space after two- or three-letter abbreviated reporter names: “Cal. 2d” (California Reports, second series)
  • Do not provide a space after initialisms: “A.” or “N.Y.S.” in “A.2d” (Atlantic Reporter) or “N.Y.S.2d” (New York Supplement).
Examples
17. Williams v. Davis, 27 Cal. 2d 746 (1946).
18. Id. at 747.
19. Henningsen v. Bloomfield Motors, In., 32 N.J. 358, 161 A.2d 69 (1960).
20. Stambovsky v. Ackley, 572 N.Y.S.2d 672 (App. Div. 2007).
21. Williams, 27 Cal. 2d 746.
Constitutions
Constitutions
Guidelines
  • Provide article and amendment numbers in roman numerals.
  • Other subdivision numbers are in Arabic.
  • Capitalize the name of the constitution; other abbreviations are lowercased.
Examples
22. U.S. Const. art. I, § 4, cl. 2.
23. U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 2.
24. Ariz. Const. art. VII, § 5.
25. Ark. Const. of 1868, art. III, § 2 (superseded 1874).
Legislative & Executive Documents
Laws and Statutes
Guidelines
  • Bills or joint resolutions that have been signed into law—“public laws,” or statutes—are first published separately, as slip laws, and then collected in the annual bound volumes of the United States Statutes at Large (abbreviated as Stat.), where they are referred to as session laws. Later they are incorporated into the United States Code (U.S.C.).
Examples
26. Homeland Security Act of 2002, Pub. L. No. 107-296, 116 Stat. 2135 (2002).
27. Homeland Security Act of 2002, 6 U.S.C. § 101 (2002).
Bills and Resolutions
Guidelines
  • The title of the bill (if there is one) is followed by the bill number, the congressional session, a section number (if relevant), and the year of publication in parentheses.
  • Bills that have been enacted should be cited as statutes.
Examples
28. Homeland Security Act of 2002, H.R. 5005, 107th Cong. (2002).
Hearings
Guidelines
  • Provide the full title of testimony in italics.
  • The relevant committee should be listed as part of the title.
  • Include the number of the Congress, the page number cited (if any), the date in parentheses, and the speaker’s name, title, and affiliation in parentheses.
Examples
29. Homeland Security Act of 2002: Hearings on H.R. 5005, Day 3, Before the Select Comm. on Homeland Security, 107th Cong. 203 (2002) (statement of David Walker, Comptroller General of the United States).
Congressional Reports and Documents
Guidelines
  • Numbered reports and documents are cited by the number of Congress, which is joined to the document number by a hyphen.
  • House and Senate reports are abbreviated “H.R. Rep.” or “S. Rep.”
  • Documents are cited to “H.R. Doc.” or “S. Doc.”
  • A specific page reference, if needed, is added following the word at.
  • Place the year of the report or document in parentheses.
  • Additional information (e.g., to indicate a conference report) follows the year, in parentheses.
  • If not mentioned in text, a title and author (if any) may be included in the citation.
Examples
30. Select Comm. on Homeland Security, Homeland Security Act of 2002, H.R. Rep. No. 107-609, pt. 1 (2002).
31. H.R. Rep. No. 106-661, at 9 (2000) (Conf. Rep.).
32. S. Doc. No. 77-148, at 2-5 (1941).
Congressional Debates Since 1873
Guidelines
  • The page number (preceded by “H” or “S,” for House or Senate, in the daily edition) is followed by the date, which is placed in parentheses.
  • If the identity of a speaker is necessary, include it in parentheses.
Examples
33. 147 Cong. Rec. 19,000 (2001).
34. 148 Cong. Rec. S10,491 (daily ed. Oct. 16, 2002) (statement of Sen. Dodd).
Congressional Debates Before 1873
Guidelines
  • Until 1873, congressional debates were privately printed in Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873).
  • Provide the date as the year covered (not the date of publication).
  • Cite the Globe according to session, and the Annals and Debates according to volume number.
  • Titles should be abbreviated and in roman font.
Examples
35. Cong. Glob, 39th Cong. 2d Sess. 39 (1866).
36. 42 Annals of Cong. 1697 (1824).
37. 3 Reg. Deb. 388 (1827).
State Laws and Municipal Ordinances
Guidelines
  • Set titles in roman type.
  • Include name in parentheses where necessary to indicate the version of a code cited.
  • The date following a code (or the version of a code) indicates the year the volume was updated or supplemented to include the law being cited.
  • The date a specific law was passed may be included in parentheses at the end of the citation.
Examples
38. Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3566 (West 2000).
39. An Act Guaranteeing Governmental Independence, Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 520.020 (LexisNexis 1985) (passed Jan. 3, 1974).
Presidential Documents
Guidelines
  • Presidential proclamations, executive orders, vetoes, addresses, and the like are published in the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc.) and in the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (Pub. Papers).
  • Proclamations and executive orders are also carried in the daily Federal Register (Fed. Reg.) and then published in title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).
  • Some executive orders and proclamations become part of the United States Code and are best so cited.
Examples
40. Proclamation No. 8214, 73 Fed. Reg. 1439 (Jan. 8, 2008).
41. Exec. Order No. 11,609, 3 C.F.R. 586 (1971-75).
Treaties
Guidelines
  • Titles of treaties are set in roman and capitalized headline-style.
  • An exact date indicates the date of signing and is therefore preferable to a year alone, which may differ from the year the treaty was published in one of the works above.
  • Page numbers are given where relevant.
Examples
42. Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapon Tests in the Atmosphere, in Outer Space and Under Water, U.S.-U.K.-U.S.S.R., Aug. 5, 1963, 14 U.S.T. 1313.
43. Convention Concerning Military Service, Den.-Italy, July 15, 1954, 250 T.I.A.S. 3516, at 45.
Unpublished Government Documents
Guidelines
  • Titles of treaties are set in roman and capitalized headline-style.
  • An exact date indicates the date of signing and is therefore preferable to a year alone, which may differ from the year the treaty was published in one of the works above.
  • Page numbers are given where relevant.
Examples
44. Senate Committee on the Judiciary, “Lobbying,” file 71A-F15, RG 46, National Archives.
45. National Archives Branch Depository, Suitland, MD, Records of the National Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement, RG 10.
Patents
Guidelines
  • Patents are cited under the names of the creators and dated by the year of filing.
Examples
46. Iizuka, Masanori, and Hideki Tanaka. Cement admixture. US Patent 4,586,960, filed June 26, 1984, and issued May 6, 1986.

MEDIA (AUDIO/VISUAL) MATERIALS

The basic format is:

Footnote (First Note)

1. First_name Last_name, Title of Work, Format, directed/performed by First_name Last_name (Original Release Year; Publication City: Studio/Distributor, Video Release Year), Medium.

Footnote (Succeeding Notes)

2. Last_name, Shortened Title of Work.

Bibliography Entry

Last_name, First_name. Title of Work. Format. Directed/Performed by First_name Last_name. Original Release Year. Publication City: Studio/Distributor, Video Release Year. Medium.

Specific Examples:

Motion Picture, as Viewed in a Theater
Footnote (First)
1. Despicable Me, directed by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud (2010; Universal City, CA: Universal Studios), Film.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Despicable Me.
Bibliography Entry
Despicable Me. Directed by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud. 2010. Universal City, CA: Universal Studios. Film.
Video, DVD
Footnote (First)
1. Labyrinth: Collector's Edition, directed by Jim Henson (1986; Culver City, CA: Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment, 2004), DVD.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Labyrinth: Collector's Edition.
Bibliography Entry
Labyrinth: Collector's Edition. Directed by Jim Henson. 1986. Culver City, CA: Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment, 2004. DVD.
YouTube or Social Media Video
Footnote (First)
1. Concordia Portland, "Concordia's 3 to PhD Initiative," YouTube video, 4:13, posted by "Concordia Portland," February 6, 2014, http://youtu.be/hTOpTQWTSmI?.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Concordia Portland, "Concordia's 3 to PhD Initiative."
Bibliography Entry
Concordia Portland. "Concordia's 3 to PhD Initiative." YouTube video, 4:13. Posted by "Concordia Portland," February 6, 2014. http://youtu.be/hTOpTQWTSmI?.
Audio Podcast
Footnote (First)
1. Deborah Stanish, Erika Ensign, Lynne M. Thomas, and Tansy R. Roberts, Verity! Episode 46 - Communication Breakdown, Verity! Podcast, MP3, 1:12:31, accessed September 3, 2014, http://veritypodcast.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/episode-46-communication-breakdown/.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Stanish, Ensign, Thomas, and Roberts, Communication Breakdown.
Bibliography Entry
Stanish, Deborah, Erika Ensign, Lynne M. Thomas, and Tansy R. Roberts. Verity! Episode 46 - Communication Breakdown. Verity! Podcast. MP3, 1:12:31. Accessed September 3, 2014. http://veritypodcast.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/episode-46-communication-breakdown/.
Artwork, Original
Footnote (First)
1. Camille Pissarro, Place du Carrousel, Paris, oil on canvas, 1900, National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Camille Pissarro, Place du Carrousel, Paris.
Bibliography Entry
Pissarro, Camille. Place du Carrousel, Paris. Oil on canvas, 1900. National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC.
Artwork/Image, Digital
Footnote (First)
1. Andrew Wyeth, Roaring Reef, [c. 1951], Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, DC., http://americanart.si.edu/collections/search/artwork/?id=33040.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Andrew Wyeth, Roaring Reef.
Bibliography Entry
Wyeth, Andrew. Roaring Reef. [c. 1951]. Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, DC. http://americanart.si.edu/collections/search/artwork/?id=33040.
Music Recording
Footnote (First)
1. Sara Bareilles, "Brave," The Blessed Unrest, Epic Records, 2013, compact disc.
Footnote (Succeeding)
2. Sara Bareilles, "Brave."
Bibliography Entry
Bareilles, Sara. "Brave." The Blessed Unrest. Epic Records, 2013. compact disc.
Site Footer