History

Research guides to the Library's collections, as well as subject guides prepared by Library of Congress staff,

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775.

Archives locations in 17 states and the District of Columbia, from coast to coast, protect and provide public access to millions of records.

The Daughters of American Revolution (DAR), founded in 1890 and headquartered in Washington, D.C., is a non-profit, non-political volunteer women's service organization dedicated to historic preservation, education, and patriotism.

The Collections of the DAR vary from the objects of the DAR Museum, the extensive print resources of our DAR Library, and our very own Archives, which holds NSDAR records and an extensive Americana Collection.

The American Revolution Institute of the Society of the Cincinnati, Inc., is a center for education dedicated to promoting understanding and appreciation of the American Revolution and its legacy.

The Institute maintains collections including more than fifty thousand items illuminating the American Revolution and its legacy. These collections document the nature and conduct of the Revolutionary War, the lives of the soldiers and sailors who fought it, the ideas that motivated them, and the events that shaped the Revolution and made it one of the most important events in modern history.

The Institute makes these collections available to researchers at all levels, exhibits highlights from the collections to the public, employs them to promote the preservation of Revolutionary War battlefields, and uses the collections to enrich materials provided to teachers and students.

Good collection of State resources. Includes three categories to search. first, Photographs, manuscripts, audio/visual, government records and maps. Second includes museum and archeology collections. Third includes books catalog.

Concordia Seminary’s Kristine Kay Hasse Memorial Library, located in Ludwig E. Fuerbringer Hall, traces its origins to 1839 when the original instructors in the Perry County log cabin used their personal libraries in the teaching of students. Today some of those original volumes remain in the library’s collection.

The book collection numbers more than 270,000 volumes. Included are the personal libraries of many of the founding fathers of The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod and its theologians: C.F.W. Walther, Georg Stoeckhardt, Franz Pieper, E. A. Krauss and others. Alumni and interested individuals have given unusual and rare materials to Hasse Library, including the incunabula from C. A. Graebner, the Russian icons and crosses from Paul Kluender and the Hemmeter collection of some 1,200 dissertations and pamphlets published before 1800.

The resources are more than adequate for in-depth research in many areas of theology and are particularly strong in the fields of New Testament and systematic theology. Reformation history is particularly well represented. Such basic sets as Migne’s Patrologiae, Mansi’s 53-volume collection of the minutes of the church councils and the Corpus Reformatorum also are available. A growing collection of Reformation-era pamphlets (Flugschriften) and other primary resources on microfiche complements one of the best 16th-century rare book collections in the country.

While Hasse Library’s holdings highlight the history and doctrine of the Lutheran church, they also provide extensive research materials for the study of ecumenism and of individual denominations. Special collections in hymnology, liturgics, the Peasants’ War, classical philology and other areas assure the interested user of the possibility of studying Christianity against the broader backdrop of general culture and history. A significant collection of Christian art rounds out the holdings.

CHI is the official Department of Archives and History for The Lutheran Church­—Missouri Synod located in Saint Louis, Missouri. The scope of this collection is North American Lutheranism – its global mission activities and its European roots.