Skip to main content Image Header for Website
Cune
Link

CUNE Research Toolkit

Databases


 

Databases are vital to the academic research process. Start familiarizing yourself with how EBSCOhost and JSTOR work, but find ones that work for you! The quicker you jump into these resources the quicker you'll get the hang of them, and your research will be much easier and faster!

(That's the Database Icon, btw)

Searching Databases

With our new page layout, the beginning of this video is a bit outdated. The Articles and Databases tab can be found under the Research heading on the homepage (top left-hand corner). We will update the video as soon as possible.

Database Info

A Quick Database Primer

Online Learning Library resource which walks you through database fundamentals. While no longer being updated, the info is still valid

Finding 5 Key Articles in an EBSCO database

EBSCOhost resource where you can familiarize yourself with one of Link Library's largest and most use database formats! Great to use with the "Using Academic Search Premier" video!

Concordia Database List

Search now! Find one that works for you and get going!

 

Database FAQs

What are Databases?

Databases provide digital access to publications such as:

  • Books
  • Book Chapters
  • Book Reviews
  • Periodicals (Newspapers, Magazines, Academic Journals, etc.)
  • Videos, Websites, and more!

Databases offer access to these materials through:

  • Citations
  • Abstracts (Summation of the article
  • Full Text

How Do I Choose A Database?

Link Library at Concordia University Nebraska subscribes to many different databases that cover a rance of topics, materials, and academic interests. Some periodicals focus on one subject area, while others are more general. The databases have a description of the area they cover and usually how many journals they pull from. Try choosing based off your subject area!

I’ve picked my database, what do I do next?

Start broad, and narrow your search after you start, try these steps:

  • Try keywords that are vital to your topic (don't be afraid to change them!)
  • Limit by publication date
  • Limit by "Peer Reviewed" or popular
  • Limit by Full-text or abstract
  • Limit by publication (journal title/publisher)

Some options may not be available in all databases.

 

Site Footer